Scapes

Not all of you are probably used to scapes, the flowering stalks of onions, garlic, and shallots. I tend to chop mine up when I first receive them (much like I’ve been doing with my green garlic) and pull handfulls out whenever I would usually add garlic or onions to a dish. When the pile gets too large because I’m not using it up, I made pesto with the pre-chopped scapes.

Our co-manager, Helena, made this dish this week and wanted to share it with everyone. Pipe in with your own suggestions.

http://wooddogs3.wordpress.com/2009/05/07/the-greens-of-spring-scapes/

Enjoy!

Dusty

Leave a Reply

